President's Message

President's Message

by Robin Deutsch, PhD


As the end of the academic year is approaching, I’d like to take the opportunity to thank analysts who have given generously of themselves in leadership positions over the past several years. Michael Windholz, a member of the Management Team and Chair of the Academic and Applied Psychoanalysis, Advocacy and Research Division, Paul Ransohoff, co-chair of the Ethics Com- mittee, Jan Baeuerlen, co-Chair of the Committee on Child Anal- ysis, and Linda Bartlett, Chair of the Low Fee Referral Service are all stepping down from their positions on June 30.

It is also our opportunity to welcome those analysts who are beginning their terms of service. As of July 1, the following will begin three year terms of service: Paul Ransohoff, will join the Management Team as Chair of the Research Division; Dena Sorbo begins service as co-chair of the Ethics Committee with Bob Epstein; Marsha Silverstein will become co-chair of the Committee on Child Analysis, sharing this responsibility with Tina Lapides; and Alan Kessler will begin his tenure as Chair of the Low Fee Referral Service. While I don’t have the names of all the committee members and chairs who are stepping down at the end of June, I wish to thank all who give of their time for the betterment of our organization.

Over the course of this academic year, the Management Team has been working to clarify existing policies for tenure for program chairs and committee members. Currently, the President has a clear three-year term, and Division chairs have a three-year term renewable for up to another three years. However, the Management Team has never adopted a formal policy for the tenure of program chairs and committee members and is currently working toward establishment of a formal policy. In this way, members of the Center will have more opportunities to participate in the educational and organizational life of the Center. Current Program and Division chairs will need to actively recruit new chairs and committee members.

As we move toward the end of the academic year, Division chairs will be updating committee and program lists with regard to tenure of committee members. The community will be stronger as the system of leadership development within SFCP evolves.

Go to top