Palo Alto Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy Training Program 2013 - 2015

2013-2015 PAPPTP Two-Year Program

To download an application click here


The PAPPTP Two-Year Program builds knowledge and skills in psychoanalytic psychotherapy for licensed clinicians at any stage of development. The core of the Program is two years of course work and individual supervision of cases in treatment. Seminar leaders and supervisors are experienced psychodynamic psychotherapists, including analysts from SFCP (San Francisco Center for Psychoanalysis) and PINC (the Psychoanalytic Institute of Northern California).

Courses include a variety of orientations on theory and technique, along with exposure to concepts in human development from infancy on. Courses are enriched by case material from the faculty's own clinical work. (See below for the 2011-13 curriculum.)

Psychotherapy supervision is a valuable part of PAPPTP training. Two cases are required for graduation, one for a minimum of 12 months, another for a minimum of 18 months. PAPPTP provides guidance in selecting supervisors from a list of qualified analytic therapists. Where there is financial need, there are supervisors who will offer significantly reduced fees.

Students in the PAPPTP Two-Year Program should be prepared to commit six hours a week to scheduled activities plus time for assigned reading. The benefits of this commitment include an increased capacity for intensive therapeutic work, new social and professional contacts, and participation in a community of psychoanalytically-oriented clinicians.

Class schedule: Meetings are on Fridays, 8:30 a.m. to 11:50 a.m., starting on September 19, 2014 to the end of May.

Location: Room 2211, 2nd Floor, Stanford Psychiatry and Behavioral Building, 401 Quarry Road, Stanford, CA 94305.

Tuition is $1950/year. Any fees for supervision, CME/CE credits and printed readers would be additional costs.

As of July 1, 2013, applications for the class starting September 2013 are still being accepted for the few openings that remain.  Applications will be considered in the order in which they are received. Class size is limited to a maximum of 10. Applicants must have completed a clinical degree and be licensed in a mental health field. Admission requires an application, letters of reference, and personal interviews.

Dena Sorbo, L.C.S.W., Program Chair
Richard Almond, M.D., Past Program Chair (ex-officio)
Elizabeth Biggart, Ph.D., Dean, Student Development Chair
Neil Brast, M.D., Associate Program Chair
Cheryl Goodrich, Ph.D., Curriculum Chair
Jana Kahn, Ph.D., Faculty Chair
Sharon Levin, L.C.S.W., Admissions Chair
Ann Martini, L.C.S.W., Student Affairs Chair
Michael Smith, Ph.D., Supervision Chair
Jeffrey Yost, M.F.T., CEU Coordinator
Barbara Almond, M.D.
Lynn Alexander, Psy.D.
Miriam Bar, Ph.D.
John Barry, M.D.
Svetlana Bonner, M.D.
Margo Chapin, M.F.T.
Peter Carnochan, Ph.D.
Joe Caston, M.D.
Kathryn DeWitt, Ph.D.
Shela Fisk, Ph.D.
Cia Foreman, Ph.D.
Craig Forte, L.C.S.W.
Julie Gerhardt, Ph.D. 
Lee Grossman, Ph.D.
Susan Hamlin, L.C.S.W.
Robert Harris, M.D.
Karen Johnson, M.D.
Alan Kessler, Ph.D.
Michael Loughran, Ph.D.
Mali Mann, M.D.
Jan Mill, Ph.D.
Mary Jane Otte, Ph.D.
Nancy Peters, L.C.S.W.
Paul Ransohoff, D.M.H.
Maureen Smith Ruffell, M.D.
Laura Seitel, Ph.D.
Alice Sklar, M.F.T., C.G.P.
Angela Sowa, Ph.D.
Mark Snyder, M.D.
Beth Taylor, M.D.
Camilla Van Voorhees, M.D.
Brant Wenegrat, M.D.
Dana Wideman, Ph.D.
Susan Yamaguchi, L.C.S.W.


Go to top